Nic Long Wins Interbike BMX Athlete of 2015

October 2, 2015 by  

Nic Long wins 2015 Interbike BMX Athlete award
A few weeks back, at the 2015 Interbike trade show, the organizers held their second-annual Interbike awards dinner. The event had 36 award categories (below, with respective winners), covering all aspects of the bicycle industry. Nic Long was selected as “BMX Athlete of the Year.”

Now-former BMX Plus! Editor, Ben Crockett (above, left), who was involved in the selection process gave News the backstory on Nic’s selection:

We were asked to select a rider based on achievements and professionalism both on and off the bike. As USAC #1 Elite and top U.S. Olympic team contender his achievements in the bike are a given. His charity work feeding the homeless along with strong stance on better preparing young riders for global performance by improving local programs, along with clinics and coaching, make him as professional on the bike as off, whether he believes that of himself or not.

After the ceremony, Nic told News:

It’s a huge honor to be recognized for something beyond the accomplishments of my racing career. Helping families in need and homeless individuals isn’t something I need or wanted praise for, simply something I enjoy doing… Most of my close friends know I’d give the shirt off my back to nearly anyone who I felt needed it more then myself.

Here is the full roster of honorees from the 2015 IB Awards:

2015 IB Award Winners List

  • North American Road Cyclist of the Year (Male/Female)
    • Megan Guarnier
  • North American MTB Cyclist of the Year (Male/Female)
    • Catharine Pendrel
  • International Cyclocross Rider of the Year (Male/Female)
    • Mathieu van der Poel
  • International Cyclist of the Year – Male
    • Chris Froome
  • International Cyclist of the Year – Female
    • Pauline Ferrand-Prevot
  • North American Revelation Rider of the Year
    • Rob Britton
  • International Ride of the Year
    • Aaron Gwin
  • Mountain Bike of the Year
    • Pivot Mach 429SL
  • Mountain Product Innovation of the Year
    • Schwalbe & Syntace PROCORE Tubeless System
  • People’s Upgrade Choice Award – Mountain
    • Bell Super 2R Helmet
  • Best in Show Mountain
    • Push Industries ELEVENSIX Rear Shock
  • Road Bike of the Year
    • Cannondale EVO Force
  • Road Product Innovation of the Year
    • SRAM Force CX1
  • People’s Upgrade Choice Award – Road
    • SRAM Force CX1
  • Best in Show – Road
    • SRAM Red eTAP
  • BMX Product Innovation of the Year
    • The Subrosa Street Rail​
  • BMX Athlete of the Year
    • Nic Long​
  • E-Bike of the Year
    • Stromer ST2​
  • Highest Brand Profitability to the LBS, Unit Turns
    • Tifosi Optics​
  • Highest Brand Profitability to the LBS, Dollars
    • Lazer​
  • Best Service to the LBS
    • Kona Bicycle Co.​
  • Best Brand Value to Consumers
    • Bern Unlimited​
  • Best Brand Value to the LBS
    • Specialized​
  • Best Distributor Service to the LBS
    • Quality Bicycle Products​
  • NBDA’s Signature Award
    • Efficient Velo Tools​
  • International Male Triathlete of the Year
    • Jan Frodeno​
  • International Female Triathlete of the Year
    • Gwen Jorgensen​
  • Triathlon Industry Leader of the Year
    • Challenge Family​
  • Next Generation Award
    • NICA (National Interscholastic Cycling Association)​
  • PlacesForBikes Award
    • Atlanta Beltline​
  • Leadership Award
    • Deb Hubsmith, Safe Routes To School​
  • Best Urban/Lifestyle Shop
    • Bicycle Habitat – New York, NY​
  • Best Pro Road Shop
    • ATA Cycle – Concord, MA​
  • Best Mountain Bike Shop
    • Absolute Bikes – Salida, CO
    • Bryson City Bicycles – Bryson City, NC​
  • Best Women’s/Female Friendly Shop
    • Pedal Chic – Greenville, SC​
  • 2015 Retailer of the Year
    • Landry’s Bicycles – Boston, MA

A big BMX News congratulations to Nic on his selection, and for the achievements that led to this award.

—Mike Carruth


Haro Bikes Website

Dan’s Comp Website